• w&b2

    Thursday, November 20, 2014 ·

    Álex de la Iglesia returns to the mayhem and excess of his cinematic roots with WITCHING AND BITCHING.

    Witching and Bitching

    lff
  • turner2

    Tuesday, November 18, 2014 ·

    The artistic highlights of Turner’s career writ large on the cinema screen in flesh and blood make this a cinematic delight, writes Mark Liversidge.

    Mr Turner

  • dana

    Monday, November 17, 2014 ·

    What, who and why female Ghostbusters?

    Ghostbustresses

  • poss2

    Sunday, November 16, 2014 ·

    This inspiring and heartwarming documentary charts the recovery of much-loved musician Edwyn Collins from a double stroke in 2005.

    The Possibilities are Endless

  • graef2

    Saturday, November 15, 2014 ·

    We speak to Professor Roger Graef OBE about storytelling, creative freedom and the documentary he “literally fled” from.

    Interview with Roger Graef

  • gone too far pic

    Friday, November 14, 2014 ·

    GONE TOO FAR! is a light-hearted comedy and a breath of fresh air for portrayals of London’s black communities, according to Stephen Watson.

    Gone Too Far!

    CAFF
  • goddess

    Thursday, November 13, 2014 ·

    Hiu Chan reviews the remastered and digitalised silent classic, THE GODDESS, which premiered this year as part of the London BFI Film Festival.

    The Goddess

  • winter2

    Wednesday, November 12, 2014 ·

    A former actor turned hotelier, Aydin casts himself as a Shakespearean figure in his own life story. Rebecca Naughten reviews WINTER SLEEP.

    Winter Sleep

    lff
spark featured
Thursday, October 2, 2014

Spark: A Burning Man Story

SPARK: A BURNING MAN STORY’s enthusiasm begins delightful and ends sour, according to Arjun Sajip.

Come back africa features
Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Come Back, Africa

COME BACK, AFRICA is a historical document worth remembering and re-watching, according to Arjun Sajip.

weall2
Saturday, September 27, 2014

We All Want What’s Best For Her

Mar Coll and Nora Navas have crafted a sympathetic and human portrait of a woman in crisis, writes Rebecca Naughten.

west1
Sunday, September 21, 2014

West

Christian Schwochow’s 1970s-set period drama explores the Cold War division of the country, whose legacy is still felt within Germany today.

landing
Saturday, September 20, 2014

CFF Shorts: Twins 2

From familial concerns in LA ISLA to alien invasion in THE LANDING: Emma Wilkinson looks at the value and dexterity of short filmmaking showcased at CFF2014.

sleep
Friday, September 19, 2014

Student Review: Before I Go To Sleep

BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP is a well-structured, skilfully acted thriller which loses its effectiveness after it places its cards on the table, writes Elliot Wright.

palo alto 2
Thursday, September 18, 2014

Student Review: Palo Alto

Although amusing and thought provoking at times, Gia Coppola’s directorial debut drives toward style over substance, writes Katrina Smith.

shadow 2
Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Shadows

John Cassavetes’ semi-improvised debut film still has an immediacy and realism that outpaces many modern indies, writes Jim Moore.

The Day the Earth Caught Fire | TakeOneCFF.com
Tuesday, September 16, 2014

The Day the Earth Caught Fire

In anticipation of the BFI’s forthcoming Sci-Fi season, Gavin Midgley looks back at a landmark British entry in the genre.

crossing points feature
Saturday, September 13, 2014

Crossing Points

CROSSING POINTS explores the memory of space and its atmosphere, according to Hannah Clarkson.