• hector2

    Thursday, June 25, 2015 ·

    Jake Gavin’s treatment of homelessness, HECTOR, sits somewhere between CATHY COME HOME and THE FISHER KING, writes Jack Toye.

    Hector

    eiff
  • holmes600x350

    Monday, June 22, 2015 ·

    McKellen’s Holmes is where the heart is, writes Xanthe Gilmore.

    Mr Holmes

  • hallow3

    Monday, June 22, 2015 ·

    “You can’t go cutting down them there trees, because there’s mythical creatures you’re really going to annoy!” Jack Toye reviews THE HALLOW.

    The Hallow

    eiff
  • Accidental-Love

    Monday, June 15, 2015 ·

    Billed simply as a “star-studded, wacky romantic comedy,” ACCIDENTAL LOVE is actually many things, writes Alison Hicks.

    Accidental Love

  • jane2

    Wednesday, June 3, 2015 ·

    Anthony Davis spoke to composer Laura Rossi about her experience writing music for BFI Silent Film JANE SHORE, currently touring the UK.

    Interview with Laura Rossi

  • valley2

    Wednesday, May 27, 2015 ·

    Metaphysics, mortality and marriage sweat it out in the arid desert of Death Valley, California, in Guillaume Nicloux’s new feature, VALLEY OF LOVE.

    Valley of Love

  • cannes2

    Saturday, May 23, 2015 ·

    Let last entry’s queuing situation be the only cloud on the horizon for this year’s Cannes Festival. In truth, it has been a wondrous experience.

    Cannes Film Festival 2015: Days 9 – 11

    fdc
  • cannes1

    Friday, May 22, 2015 ·

    “Queue” is a dirty word in France, and at Cannes it’s a bad word for Jack Toye in particular.

    Cannes Film Festival 2015: Days 7 & 8

    fdc
maps to the stars cover t1
Friday, October 17, 2014

Maps To The Stars

Maps To The Stars is a Cronenberg special of oddity and cool inspection, according to Kayleigh Barnes.

LFF10
Thursday, October 16, 2014

BFI LFF Diary #1

On day 4 of the event, our roving reporter Jack Toye “expunges” his thoughts on this year’s BFI London Film Festival.

xy
Wednesday, October 15, 2014

X+Y

X+Y looks set to be just the right sort of film to herald the start of springtime after a meteorologically melancholy winter, writes Jack Toye at the BFI London Film Fest.

duke2
Tuesday, October 14, 2014

The Duke Of Burgundy

Lepidopterism and lesbianism abound in Peter Strickland’s new feature, writes Jack Toye at the BFI London Film Fest.

cali2
Monday, October 13, 2014

The Cabinet of Dr Caligari

Silent horror classic back from the dead!

adieu2
Sunday, October 12, 2014

Goodbye to Language 3D

Where does philosophy live in a world where we are saying goodbye to language? Perhaps it lies in the re-emergence of 3D in cinema?

gallery2
Saturday, October 11, 2014

National Gallery

Spend three hours in the National Gallery and there is absolutely no way you will cover as many of the goings-on as Wiseman’s documentary offers.

the social network feature
Friday, October 10, 2014

Fincher Retrospective: Class, Revolution and The Social Network

Edd Elliott considers the class connotations underlying David Fincher’s THE SOCIAL NETWORK.

spark featured
Thursday, October 2, 2014

Spark: A Burning Man Story

SPARK: A BURNING MAN STORY’s enthusiasm begins delightful and ends sour, according to Arjun Sajip.

Come back africa features
Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Come Back, Africa

COME BACK, AFRICA is a historical document worth remembering and re-watching, according to Arjun Sajip.